Skip to content

Merle Haggard (1937-2016)

14/04/2016

0762001e3bc227712a0331ace5d3e026

White line fever, a sickness born
Down deep within my soul
White line fever, the years keep flyin’ by
Like the highline poles

The wrinkles in my forehead
Show the miles I’ve put behind me
They continue to remind how fast I’m growin’ old
Guess I’ll die with this fever in my soul

I wonder just what makes a man keep pushing on
What makes me keep on hummin’ this old highway song
I’ve been from coast to coast a hundred times before
I ain’t found one single place where I ain’t been before

In 1969 waren witte lijnen geen cocaïne maar strepen op de weg. Merle Haggard schreef met White line Fever de ultieme traveling song. Ik hoorde het voor eerst in 1974 in de uitvoering van The Flying Burrito Brothers op hun derde en gelijknamige elpee uit 1971. De stichter Gram Parsons had toen net de band verlaten en ging solo door. Hij had de FBB op het Haggard spoor gezet zoals blijkt uit een unreleased track uit 1970. Na zijn overlijden in 1973 kwam de opname pas op de Sleepness Nights elpee terecht. Tonight the bottle let me down is de ultieme drinking song:

Each night I’d leave the barroom when it’s over
Not feeling any pain at closing time
But tonight your memory found me much to sober
Couldn’t drink enough to keep you off my mind.

Tonight the bottle let me down
and let your memory come around
The one true friend i thought I’d found
Tonight the bottle let me down.

I’ve always had a bottle I could turn to
and lately I’ve been turning everyday
But the wind don’t take effect the way it used to
And I’m hurting in an old familiar way.

Gram Parsons (1946-1973) is voor veel Europese jongeren degene die Merle Haggard en de hardcore Country & Western onder de aandacht heeft gebracht. In de analoge tijd verplaatste muziek zich minder snel en bleef daardoor merendeels op de nationale markt gericht. Amerikaanse country elpees werden wel geïmporteerd maar waren duur (fl 25-40,-) vergeleken met wat je ervoor kreeg. Alle jaren 60 country elpees hebben 2 afspeelkanten met ieder 5 liedjes van 2,5 minuut. Maar wat van ver komt en zeldzaam is blijft trekken. Merle Haggard intrigeerde en ik wilde meer beluisteren. In de huidige digitale torrent tijd is het moeilijk voor te stellen hoe beperkt het alternatieve muziekaanbod was. In 1975 kocht ik een dubbelelpee, met dus 4 x 5 songs van 2,5 minuut, en vond opnieuw een prachtige drinking song.

This old smoke filled bar is something I’m not used to
But if gave up my home to see you satisfied
And I just called to let you know where I’ll be living
It’s not much but I feel welcome here inside.

And I’ve got swinging doors a jukebox and a barstool
And my new home has got a flashing neon sign
Stop by and see me anytime you want to
‘Cause I’m always here at home till closing time.

I’ve got everything I need to drive me crazy
I’ve got everything it takes to lose my mind
And in here the atmosphere’s just right for heartaches
And thanks to you I’m always here till closing time.

Het analoge luisteren waar nu zo naar wordt terugverlangd bleef moeizaam. Met kanten van 12,5 minuut is achtergrond muziek onmogelijk. Door de komst van de muziekcassette en de Walkman (1979) werd die tijd uitgebreid. Je kon nu zelfs op de fiets gewoon door luisteren.  De digitale revolutie met de cd zou dat alles veranderen en in 1999 kocht ik Haggards majestueuze 4 cd box Down every road die door de Oor als beste country box ooit werd beschouwd. Met 100 liedjes die tussen 1962 – 1994 zijn opgenomen blijft het een onuitputtelijk openbaring. Vanwege Haggards nauwkeurige uitspraak zijn de teksten goed te verstaan en is het perfecte auto muziek. Je kent de liedjes maar toch lopen de zinnen steeds net weer iets anders dan verwacht.

merle_haggard_portrait

Een nieuw ontdekte held is fijn maar ook een oude bekende heeft recht op zijn zonnetje. Zeker als hij onlangs toch weer volkomen onverwacht is overleden. Want met Merle Haggard praten we wel over de grootste country ster die ooit heeft geleefd. Een klein beetje groter dan Hank Williams, Bob Wills of Jimmie Rodgers en veel groter dan Johnny Cash. Toen Cash in 1959 in de San Quentin gevangenis optrad, was onder het publiek de 22-jarige inmate Merle Haggard. He turned 21 in prison vanwege 3 jaar celstraf voor een gewapende overval. His mama tried maar kon haar 14-jarige zoon na het overlijden van zijn vader niet op het recht pad houden. Ook daar heeft Merle een liedje over geschreven.

The first thing I remember knowing, was a lonesome whistle blowing
And a young one’s dream of growing up to ride
On a freight train leaving town not knowing where I’m bound
No-one could change my mind but mama tried.

One and only rebel child from a family, meek and mild
My Mama seemed to know what lay in store
Despite all my Sunday learning towards the bad, I kept on turning
‘Til Mama couldn’t hold me anymore.

And I turned twenty-one in prison doing life without parole.
No-one could steer me right but Mama tried, Mama tried.
Mama tried to raise me better, but her pleading, I denied.
That leaves only me to blame ‘cos mama tried.

Dear old Daddy, rest his soul, left my Mom a heavy load
She tried so very hard to fill his shoes
Working hours without rest, wanted me to have the best
She tried to change me right but I refused.

Merle Haggard ontsnapte voor hij 21 werd 14 keer uit een penitentiaire instelling. Gelukkig was het life without parole wel verzonnen en kon de 23 jarige Merle na de gevangenis een muziekloopbaan opbouwen. Hij pakte zijn gitaar weer op en kon zich dankzij de rijke muziekwereld van Bakersfield snel ontwikkelen. Zijn goede zangtechniek was in eerste instantie eerder een handicap dan voordeel. Hij kon iedereen imiteren en had ogenschijnlijk geen eigen stijl. Hij vormde een duo Bonnie Owens en langzaam kwam de carrière van de grond. Zijn huwelijk met zijn eerste vrouw dateerde van voor de gevangenis en werd een living hell en in 1964 scheidde hij van haar.

You always find a way, to hurt my pride
If I’m not cryin’, you’re not, satisfied
I don’t know why you want to, hurt me so
If you’re tryin’ to break my heart,
You don’t have very far to go

You don’t have very far to go before the heartaches, begin
I already feel the sadness, of a heartbreak, settin’ in
You’ve turnin’ down the flame of love, too low
If you’re tryin’ to break my heart,
You don’t have very far to go

De nuchtere en 8 jaar oudere Bonnie Owens en voormalige echtgenote van Buck Owens stond op de bühne al aan zijn zijde. Zij werd zijn rots en was van grote invloed op de uitbouw van zijn muziekcarrière.  Ze trouwden in 1965 en zij ontfermde zich over de 4 kinderen uit zijn eerste huwelijk. Met haar begon de gouden periode die van 1965 tot 1969 duurde. Zijn teksten stroomden uit zijn geest en Bonnie zat er met een blocnote bij om te noteren.

d2d912535fc624f456924c30a9986d92All of me belongs to you all the time
You’re the only one that’s ever on my mind
There’s no way that I would ever be untrue
There’s not one single part of me
That don’t miss you through and through
‘Cause all of me belongs to you

Eyes are worthless ‘cause you’re not here to see
My lips are so forgotten since you forgotten me
My arms ached from reaching out to you the way they do
There’s not one single part of me
That don’t miss you through and through
‘Cause all of me belongs to you

Fingers claw the darkness in my dreams
Searching for a love I lost but can’t redeem
Hey, I’m yours and I can’t give my heart to someone new
There’s not one single part of me
My heart don’t inclue
‘Cause all of me belongs to you

De band had met Roy Nichols en James Burton de beschikking over 2 meestergitaristen en samen met Buck Owens werd de Bakersfield Sound geboren. Een sobere op de rockmuziek georiënteerde versie van de klassieke Nashville country. Merle Haggard priemt zijn scherpe stem venijnig door de muziek en zingt zijn liedjes zodanig dat je hem altijd geloofd. Hij zal het tijdens het zingen vermoedelijk ook wel zelf geloven. Tot 1975 bleef hij samen met Bonnie Owens. Hij werd verliefd op Dolly Parton maar trouwde daarna nog 3 maal met een andere vrouw. Voldoende materiaal dus voor heartbreak en bitterness.

She was always there each time I needed you
Holding on to me like I held on to you
We still don’t have what you and I once had
No, it’s not love, but it’s not bad

No, it’s not love, not like ours was
It’s not love, but it keeps love from driving me mad
And I don’t have to wonder who she’s had
No, it’s not love, but it’s not bad

I turn to her when you leave me alone
Sometimes even when you’re here, and you’re still gone
She’s slowly changing what you leave so sad
No, it’s not love, but it’s not bad

No, it’s not love, not like ours was
It’s not love but it keeps love from driving me mad
I don’t have to wonder who she’s had
No, it’s not love, but it’s not bad

In de Country muziek kijkt men altijd eerder met heimwee naar  het verleden dan met hoop naar de toekomst. Het is het reactionaire voedsel voor de massa waar ook nu nog de populisten uit putten. Schrijven over een bestaand gevoel is eenvoudiger dan het voorspellen van onzeker geluk. De boodschap is in een refrein met maximaal 2 coupletten gevat. De liedjes lijken veel langer maar als tekst zonder herhalingen blijkt de ontleding van het gevoel bondig en precies.

Today I started lovin’ you again
I’m right back to where I’ve really always been
I got over you just long enough to let my heartache mend
Then today I started loving you again

What a fool I was to think I could get by
With only these few million tears I cried
I should have known the worst was yet to come
And the crying time for me had just begun

xxxxxxxxxxx

I lost my mind the day I lost your love
I lost everything except the will to cry
If you find me crawling back from time to time
It’s not you I want, I’m looking for my mind

‘Cause I lost my mind the day I lost your love
I’m not crazy but sometimes I wish I was
If you turn around and find me crawling close behind
It’s not you I want, I’m looking for my mind

57054d0745cd3.image

I’d like to hold my head up and be proud of who I am
but they won’t let my secret go untold
I paid the debt I owed them, but they’re still not satisfied
now I’m a branded man out in the cold,

When they let me out of prison, I held my head up high
determined I would rise above the shame
But no matter where I travel, the black mark follows me
I’m branded with a number on my name.

If I live to be a hundred, guess I’ll never clear my name
‘Cause everybody knows I’ve been in jail
No matter where I’m living, I’ve got to tell them where I’ve been
Or they’ll send me back to prison if I fail.

xxxxxxxxx

Down every road there’s always one more city
I’m on the run, the highway is my home
I raised a lot of Cain back in my younger days
While Mama used to pray my crops would fail
Now I’m a hunted fugitive with just two ways
Outrun the law or spend my life in jail

I’d like to settle down but they won’t let me
A fugitive must be a rolling stone
Down every road there’s always one more city
I’m on the run, the highway is my home

I’m lonely but I can’t afford the luxury
Of having one I love to come along
She’d only slow me down and they’d catch up with me
For he who travels fastest goes alone

From → muziek

Geef een reactie

Geef een reactie

