Skip to content

Beyoncé – Lemonade – 2016

06/06/2016

beylemonadestill.PNG

Met haar 6de album Lemonade evolueert Beyoncé Knowles (1981) van zangeres naar instituut. Het is een gepast moment voor duiding en verdieping van mijn beleving. Er is bijna geen ontkomen meer aan en kranten en internet staan bol van lof en uitleg. Er is meer dan muziek aan de hand want de meningen gaan niet alleen over haar muziek maar ook over de boodschap. Ik bouw dus voor eigen lering en vermaak mijn persoonlijke beeld van Beyoncé op en probeer te achterhalen waar voor mij de essentie en fascinatie ligt voor dit veelzijdig fenomeen.

Beyoncé is nu 34 en al in haar derde publieke leven aangeland. Het eerste begon in 1997 toen ze als 16-jarige in Houston Texas startte als leadzangeres van het meidentrio Destiny’s Child. Ze maakten 4 cd’s vol hits en groeiden met 60 miljoen albums uit tot best verkopende vrouwengroep ooit. Het zijn leuke liedjes gezongen door pittige eigenzinnige meisjes met verleidende clips. Ze profiteerden optimaal van de beginfase van de MTV periode die beeld aan muziek toevoegde. Terugkijkend  zijn die filmpjes vooral vanuit haar huidige status extra leuk.

Haar tweede leven als solo zangeres begon in 2003 met de cd Dangerously in Love. In 2006 volgde de tweede cd B’Day op haar 25ste verjaardag. Meer van dezelfde R&B waarin ze voorvechtster van de vrouwenemancipatie en independent woman bleef. Naast zingen ging ze acteren en scheidde in 2008 op de derde en dubbel album I am …..Sasha Fierce haar persoonlijke muziekwereld van de dvd podiumpersoonlijkheid. Ze trouwde met rapper/platenbaas Jay Z en werd een publiek figuur. Haar films Goldmember 2002, The Fighting Temptations 2003, Dreamgirls 2006, The Pink Panter 2006 en Cadillac Records 2008 zijn leuk maar niet meer los van haar imago te beoordelen.

Pas in 2011 ben ik bij haar derde fase gelijk met haar dochter Blue Ivy Carter ingestapt. Het openingsnummer 1+1 van de vierde cd 4 laat duidelijk horen dat ze zich als serieuze zangeres manifesteert. Ook introduceert ze andere muziekstijlen naast de R&B.  Met haar vijfde cd Beyoncé trekt ze in 2003 die lijn door en waaiert muzikaal nog verder uit. Het is opnieuw een dubbelaar maar nu wordt de muziek-cd gecombineerd met een dvd vol videoclips. Zeer sterke liedjes en mooie clips waarin ze uitdagend haar vrouw-zijn uitdraagt. Ze eist het recht op om sexy te zijn zonder te worden veroordeeld als slet. Muziek en beeld zijn overrompelend en misschien nog indrukwekkender dan Lemonade.

Naast zangeres en performer is Beyoncé ook een geldmachine. Alles wat ze aanraakt verandert in goud. In totaal heeft ze als solo artiest 100 miljoen albums verkocht. Ze is de eerste artiest wiens 6 cd’s op de eerste plaats van de charts binnenkomen. Daarnaast heeft ze contracten met Pepsi, L’Oreal, kledinglijnen en parfummerken. Haar netto waarde werd in 2015 door Forbes op $250 miljoen geschat. 

Lemonade (Special Edition) (Capa)

Net zo onverwacht als zijn voorganger komt Lemonade op 23 april 2016 uit het internet stromen. De geschiedenis zal leren of Lemonade de laatste cd van haar derde leven is of het begin van een vierde. Bij de eerste luisterbeurt lijkt hij toegankelijker dan de vorige. De composities variëren in stijl en intensiteit maar blijven ingetogen. De titel Lemonade klinkt net zo lichtvoetig en toevallig als de muziek. Na vaker luisteren komen flarden tekst naar boven waaruit blijkt dat Beyoncé voortdurend kwaad is op haar partner. Bijna alle liedjes gaan over teleurstelling en tegenslag in de liefde. Lemonade verandert langzaam van verzamelalbum naar een mood concept album. De 12 liedjes gaan over de problemen van een relatie die langzaam op de klippen loopt. Net als de Winterreiziger van Schubert of Only the lonely van Sinatra deelt nu Beyoncé haar liefdesleed met ons. Zij is overtuigend in haar teleurstelling en kwaadheid van de bedrogen vrouw. De naam Lemonade krijgt een nieuwe betekenis als blijkt dat de oma limonade maakte van de citroenen die het leven haar gaf. (I had my ups and downs, but I always found the inner strength to pull myself up. I was served lemons, but I made lemonade). Iedere vrouw staat er alleen voor en de zwarte vrouw heeft het extra moeilijk. Beyoncé wordt een Beyhova die met haar getuigenis de zwarte zusters wil steunen. Ze heeft het vroeger vaker voor hen opgenomen maar toen was het meer op een positieve stoere feministische manier. Nu gaat ze dieper en troost vooral met haar pijn en teleurstelling. Het is de spagaat van de zwarte millennium feministen die vrijgevochten zwart moeten zijn en geen sorry meer kunnen zeggen. Alles krijgt opeens betekenis tot aan haar cornrow kapsel op het cd hoesje toe en Lemonade stijgt vanwege zijn boodschap ver boven zijn voorganger uit.

beyonce-lemonade-saturday

Lemonade is teveel voor woorden en een onuitputtelijke creatieve bron. Op de eerste plaats is er natuurlijk de muziek-cd die met plezier keer op keer beluisterd wordt en nooit al zijn geheimen prijs zal prijsgeven. Beyoncé heeft geen grote stem maar kan wel heel goed zingen. Alle emoties krijgen hun plek van honingzoete fluisters tot ordinaire schreeuwpartijen. Ze zingt niet zomaar een liedje maar geeft de teksten belevenis en inhoud. Eenzelfde betoog geldt voor de muziekcomposities. Ieder liedje is anders en de writing-credits worden gedeeld met verschillende artiesten. Het is een staalkaart van artiesten die er momenteel toe doen: Jack White voor de brutale gitaar, Kendricks Lamar voor de rapvocals, Blake voor de emotie. De teksten zijn voor het overgrote deel van Beyoncé zelf. Zij geven de muziek een persoonlijke presentie en helpen bij haar waarachtige vertolking.

Het Visual Album van Lemonade geeft de grootste openbaring. De videoclips van liedjes worden niet meer simpelweg achter elkaar op de dvd geplaatst. Ze blijven wel op volgorde van de muziek-cd maar worden nu opgeknipt door korte intermezzo’s. Tussen de liedjes leest Beyoncé intieme teksten voor van de Somalische dichtster Warsan Shire (1988). Ook worden de liedjes soms abrupt onderbroken voor een interval  van stilstaande beelden waarna het weer opgepakt wordt. Die overstelpende hoeveelheid beelden van zwarte vrouwen versterken de teksten en verduidelijken de boodschap. Het Visual Album wordt daardoor meer een manifest voor de zwarte vrouw dan een muziekalbum. Net als bij de muziek zijn er weer teveel namen om te onthouden. De bekendste regisseurs zijn Jonas Akerlund, Mark Romanov en Melina Matsoukas.

Naast muziek en beelden zijn er ook nog de teksten. Ik had gehoopt dat ze bij de cd werden geleverd maar moet nu extra mijn best doen bij het luisteren. Met flarden komt er steeds een andere boodschap over. Op internet wordt veel geduid en tevens bepaalde zwarte slang uitdrukkingen vertaald.

Becky is a slang term used to refer to white women with straight hair, so essentially a basic b*tch.

An albino alligator is a nickname for a white guy’s private parts, so she is saying she is dodging her haters, and all the white dudes that may be trying to mess with her formation.

Mooiste zin voor mij is: I’ma keep running, Cause a winner don’t quit on themselves

Ben benieuwd wat Jay Z gaat vertellen als zijn antwoord album uitkomt.

0003

 

Pray you catch me
You can taste the dishonesty, It’s all over your breath as you pass it off so cavalier
But even that’s a test, Constantly aware of it all
I’m prayin’ you catch me listening, Prayin’ I catch you whispering
Nothing else ever seemed to hurt like the smile on your face
When it’s only in my memory, It don’t hit me quite the same
Maybe it’s a cause for concern, But I’m not at ease, Keeping my head to the curb
I’m prayin’ you catch me listening, Prayin’ I catch you whispering

 

Hold Up
Hold up, they don’t love you like I love you…
Can’t you see there’s no other man above you?
What a wicked way to treat the girl that loves you
Something don’t feel right, Cause it ain’t right, Especially comin’ up after midnight
I smell your secret, and I’m not too perfect, To ever feel this worthless
How did it come down to this? Going through your call list
I don’t wanna lose my pride, but I’ma fuck me up a bitch
Know that I kept it sexy and know I kept it fun
Something that I’m missing might be my head for one
What’s worse, lookin’ jealous or crazy?
Or like been walked all over lately, I’d rather be crazy…

 

Don’t hurt yourself
Who the fuck do you think I am? You ain’t married to no average bitch boy
You can watch my fat ass twist boy, As I bounce to the next dick boy
And keep your money, I got my own, Get a bigger smile on my face, being alone
Bad motherfucker, God complex, Motivate your ass call me Malcom X
Yo operator, or innovator, Fuck you hater, you can’t recreate her no
You’ll never recreate her no, hero.

 

Sorry
Sorry, I ain’t sorry, Sorry, I ain’t sorry, (I ain’t sorry, nigga, nah…)
He trying to roll me up, I ain’t picking up, Headed to the club
I ain’t thinking ‘bout you, Me and my ladies sip my D’USSE cup
I don’t give a fuck, chucking my deuces up
Suck on my balls, pause, I had enough
I ain’t thinking ‘bout you, I ain’t thinking ‘bout
Middle fingers up, put them hands high, Wave it in his face, tell him, boy, bye
Tell him, boy, bye, middle fingers up, I ain’t thinking ‘bout you

 

6 inch
She works for her money,  From the start to the finish, And she worth every dollar, And she worth every minute
She stack her money, money everywhere she goes, She got that mula, lay down that Saki straight from Tokyo
She got them commas and them decimals, She don’t gotta give it up cause she professional
Six inch heels she walked in the club like nobody’s business, Goddamn she murdered everybody and I was her witness
Stars in her eyes, She fights for the power, keeping time
She grinds day and night, She grinds from Monday to Friday, Works from Friday to Sunday
She gon’ slang, She too smart to crave material things
She pushes herself day and night, She grinds from Monday to Friday, Works from Friday to Sunday
Oh stars in her eyes, She fights and she sweats those sleepless nights
But she don’t mind she loves the grind, She grinds from Monday to Friday, Works from Friday to Sunday
Too smart to crave material things, Stacking her paper, Stacking her cake up
Oh, gonna make you feel, You always come back to me, Come back, come back

 

Daddy Lessons
Came into this world, Daddy’s little girl, And daddy made a soldier out of me
Daddy made me dance, And daddy held my hand, And daddy liked his whisky with his tea
And we rode motorcycles, Blackjack, classic vinyl, Tough girl is what I had to be
He said take care of your mother, Watch out for your sister, Oh, and that’s when he gave to me…
With his gun, with his head held high, He told me not to cry, Oh, my daddy said shoot
With his right hand on his rifle, He swore it on the bible, My daddy said shoot
He held me in his arms, And he taught me to be strong, He told me when he’s gone, Here’s what you do
When trouble comes to town, And men like me come around, Oh, my daddy said shoot
Daddy made me fight, It wasn’t always right, (But he said girl it’s your second amendment, oh, oh, oh)
He always played it cool, But daddy was no fool, And right before he died he said remember…
He said take care of your mother, Watch out for your sister, And that’s when daddy looked at me…
My daddy warned me about men like you, He said baby girl he’s playing you, He’s playing you.

 

Love Drought
Ten times of nine, I know you’re lying, But nine times outta ten, I know you’re trying
So I’m trying to be fair, And you’re trying to be there and to care
And you’re caught up in your permanent emotions, All the loving I’ve been giving goes unnoticed
It’s just floating in the air, lookie there, Are you aware you’re my lifeline, are you tryna kill me
If I wasn’t me, would you still feel me? Like on my worst day? Or am I not thirsty enough?
I don’t care about the lights or the beams, Spend my life in the dark for the sake of you and me
Only way to go is up, skin thick, too tough…
Cause you, you, you, you and me could move a mountain, could calm a war down,  could make it rain now
You, you, you, you and me could stop this love drought,
Nine times out of ten, I’m in my feelings ,But ten times out of nine, I’m only human
Tell me what did I do wrong?, Feel like that question has been posed, I’m movin’ on
I always been committed, I been focused, I always payed attention, been devoted
Tell me, what did I do wrong? Oh, I already asked that
But you my lifeline, Think you tryna kill me, If I wasn’t me, would you still feel me?
Like on my worst day, But am I not thirsty enough
I don’t care about the lights or the beams, Spend my life in the dark for the sake of you and me
Only way to go is up, Cause you, you, you, you and me could move a mountain
You, you, you, you and me could calm a war down
You, you, you, you and me could make it rain now
You, you, you, you and me will stop this love drought

 

Sandcastles
We built sand castles, That washed away…
I made you cry when,  I walked away
And although I promised , That I couldn’t stay, baby
Every promise , Don’t work out that way, oh, babe…
Dishes smashed on my counter , From our last encounter, Pictures snatched out the frame
Bitch, I scratched out your name and your face, What is it about you that I can’t erase, baby?
When every promise, Don’t work out that way, no no, babe
And your heart is broken, Cause I walked away, Show me your scars
And I won’t walk away, And I know I promised, That I couldn’t stay, baby
Every promise don’t work out that way, Every promise don’t work out that way…
Forward…Best foot first just in case, When we made our way ‘til now
It’s time to listen, it’s time to fight, Forward…
Now we’re going to hold doors open for a while, Now we can be open for a while, Forward…
I love you more than this job, please don’t work for me, Forward…
Go back to your sleep in your favorite spot just next to me

 

Freedom
Tryna rain, tryna rain on the thunder! Tell the storm I move…
I’ma walk, come and march on the regular, Painting white flags blue…
Lord forgive me, I’ve been running, Running blind in truth
I’ma wade, I’ma wade through the shallow, Tell the deep I’m new
I’m telling these tears, “Go and fall away, fall away”, May the last one burn into flames
Freedom! Freedom! I can’t move, Freedom, cut me loose!
Yeah, freedom! Freedom! Where are you? Cause I need freedom too!
I break chains all by myself, Won’t let my freedom rot in hell
Hey! I’ma keep running, Cause a winner don’t quit on themselves

I’ma wade, I’ma wade through the waters, Tell the tide, “Don’t move”
I’ma riot, I’ma riot through your borders, Call me bulletproof
Lord forgive me, I’ve been running, Running blind in truth
I’ma wade, I’ma wade through the shallow, Tell the deep I’m new

What you want from me? Is it truth you seek? Oh father can you hear me? Hear me out!
I had my ups and downs but I always find the inner strength to pull myself up
I was served lemons, but I made lemonade…

 

All Night
Found the truth beneath your lies…,And true love never has to hide
I’ll trade your broken wings for mine, I’ve seen your scars and kissed your crime…
So many people that I know, they’re just tryna touch ya, Kiss up and rub up and feel up
Give you some time to prove that I can trust you again, I’m gonna kiss up and rub up and feel up
All night long…, Sweet love all night long, All I wanna, ain’t no other, We together, I remember, Sweet love all night long…

Our love was stronger than your pride, Beyond your darkness, I’m your light,
If you get deep, you touch my mind, Baptize your tears and dry your eyes.

They say true love’s the greatest weapon,  To win the war caused by pain,
But every diamond has imperfections, But my love’s too pure to watch it chip away .
Oh nothing real can be threatened, True love breathes salvation back into me,
With every tear came redemption, And my torturer became a remedy.

 

Formation
Y’all haters corny with that illuminati mess, Paparazzi, catch my fly, and my cocky fresh
I’m so reckless when I rock my Givenchy dress, I’m so possessive so I rock his Roc necklaces
My daddy Alabama, Momma Louisiana, You mix that Negro with that Creole make a Texas bamma
I like my baby hair, with baby hair and afros, I like my Negro nose with Jackson Five nostrils
Earned all his money but they never take the country out me, I got hot sauce in my bag, swag!

I did not come to play with you hoes, I came to slay, bitch
I like cornbreads and collard greens, bitch, Oh yes, you best to believe it

I see it, I want it, I stunt, little hornet, I dream it, I work hard, I grind ‘til I own it
I twirl all my haters, Albino alligators, El Camino with the ceiling low, Sippin’ Cuervo with no chaser,
Sometimes I go off, I go off, I go hard, Get what’s mine, take what’s mine, I’m a star, Cause I slay,
Okay, okay, ladies, now let’s get in formation, cause I slay,
Prove to me you got some coordination, Slay trick, or you get eliminated
When he fuck me good I take his ass to Red Lobster, cause I slay
If he hit it right, I might take him on a flight on my chopper, cause I slay
Drop him off at the mall, let him buy some J’s, let him shop up, cause I slay
I might get your song played on the radio station, cause I slay
You might just be a black Bill Gates in the making, cause I slay
I might just be a black Bill Gates in the making, cause I slay

Okay ladies, now let’s get in formation, I slay!
You know you, that bitch when you cause all this conversation,
Always stay gracious, best revenge is your paper.
Girl I hear something, thunder, (Golly this is that water boy, oh lord…)
the-19-most-controversial-lyrics-on-beyoncs-lemonade_1

From → muziek

Geef een reactie

Geef een reactie

